About the Hall of Fame

Created in 2000

NAHJ’s Hall of Fame honors those journalists whose pioneering efforts have resulted in more Latinos entering the journalism profession or have helped improve news coverage of the nation’s Latino community.

Last year, NAHJ inducted the first organization, CCNMA: Latino Journalists of California.

In the last 13 years, NAHJ has inducted 29 leaders into its Hall of Fame. NAHJ will honor its newest inductee this year at the 2013 Hall of Fame Gala during the Excellence in Journalism conference in Anaheim, California on August 26, 2013.

Hall of Fame Nomination Form

2012 Honoree

CCNMA: California Chicano News Media Association

2011 Honoree

Ernest Sotomayor: Assistant Dean for Career Services at Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism

2010 Honorees

Ray Suarez: Senior Correspondent, PBS NewsHour

Gloria Campos: Anchor, WFAA-Dallas

2009 Honorees

Geraldo Rivera: Host, Fox’s newsmagazine “Geraldo-at-Large”

Ysabel Durón: Anchor, KRON-TV (San Francisco) “Weekend Morning News”

Juan Gonzalez: Founder and Editor, El Tecolote; professor of journalism, City College of San Francisco


2008 Honorees

Juan Gonzalez: Columnist,  New York Daily News; former president, NAHJ

Maggie Rivas-Rodriguez: Professor, University of Texas at Austin, media activist

Francisco P. Ramirez: Founder, El Clamor Publico (Los Angeles)


2007 Honorees

Cecilia Alvear: retired producer, NBC, former president, NAHJ

Rigo Chacón: three-time Emmy winner; president, Rigo Chacón and Associates (RCA)

George Ramos: a three-time Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter,  The Los Angeles Times; professor, California Polytechnic State University Journalism Department (San Luis Obispo, CA)

2006 Honorees

Maria Elena Salinas: veteran anchor, “Noticiero Univision”; founding member, NAHJ

Henry Alfaro: one of the first Mexican-American TV reporters, worked for 35 years at KABC7 (Los Angeles)

2005 Honoree

Gerald Garcia Jr.: former publisher, Tucson Citizen (Arizona); founding member and first president of NAHJ

2004 Honoree

Ignacio E. Lozano, Sr.: founder, La Opinion

2003 Honorees

Dr. Mary Adelaide Gardner: former professor of journalism, Michigan State University; journalism Scholar

Albor Ruiz: columnist, New York Daily News

2002 Honorees

Paul Espinosa: independent producer, writer and director

Felix Gutiérrez: author, educator and activist

Frank del Olmo: former associate editor, The Los Angeles Times

Frank O. Sotomayor: assistant METPRO director and hiring editor, Los Angeles Times

2001 Honorees

Charlie Ericksen: founder, Hispanic Link News Service; founding member of NAHJ

Edith Sayre Auslander: former reporter and editor, Arizona Daily Star; former professor, University of Arizona

Peter Moraga: a pioneer in radio journalism in California and Arizona

2000 Honorees

Rubén Salazar: columnist, The Los Angeles Times; news director, KMEX

Elma Barrera: reporter, ABC Channel 13 – first Hispanic female reporter in the Houston market in 1972

Sylvan Rodriguez: former anchor, KHOU-TV 11 (Houston)